Pro Bono

The goal of our committee is to give back to the community by tapping into the experience and knowledge of our members. The Pro Bono and Public Awareness committee works in conjunction with and supports the efforts of the Government and Public Relations committee. The committees meet once per quarter, generally in Cupertino and all members are welcome. Please click on the link for Committee Events for more information on the next meeting

Committee Projects – Overviews
Committee Members
Volunteer Opportunities

Our Mission

To promote financial literacy among lower-income children, individuals, and families throughout the Silicon Valley. To organize and staff programs in partnership with other non-profit organizations and government agencies. To promote public awareness of the value of financial planning.

We have many committee projects listed below which are ongoing. We are always looking for volunteers to head a new project or assist in organizing an existing project. We also need volunteers for one time events on a periodic basis. If there is a cause you have a passion for or if you have a passion without a cause please contact us to see what you can do for your community.

Contact Information

Mike Caulkins, Pro Bono and Public Awareness, Chair at mwcaulkins@yahoo.com or (408) 370-3303
Julie Schatz, CFP® Government and Public Relations Chair (855) 966-9291×2 julies@feesonly.com
Chris Wentzien, CFP® Government and Public Relations Vice Chair (831)332-5614 or (831) 332-5614 chris@naturalbridgesfa.com

Committee Members

Members of the committee currently meet quarterly in Cupertino. There has been a Yahoo group established for the committee to communicate with one another and as a resource for information necessary to running the committee. To join the committee and become a member of the Yahoo group click on this link http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SV_FPA_CommRel_Org/join. You must be an FPA member to join. This will allow you to receive committee meeting notifications. The following are current members of the committee.

Leslie Beck, leslie.beck@beckinvmgt.com Juan Ledesma, aljuro@sbcglobal.net Oskar Vierney, ovierny@yahoo.com
Curtis Chen, cchen@curtischen.com Joanne Mungall, joanne@joannemungall.com Sandra Wales, swales88@yahoo.com
Mark Clark, moneydawgsolutions@yahoo.com Seetha Nachiappan, seethah@gmail.com Kerby Woo, kerby88@gmail.com
Artie Green, artie.green@sbcglobal.net Lavina Nagar, lnagar@MayaAdvisors.com Kevin Wu, kevinjohnwu@yahoo.com
Sharon Lacy, sharonlacy@cruzio.com Larysa Prytula, lprytula@yahoo.com
Karl Leal, karlleal@yahoo.com Peggy Stephan, pegstephan@aol.com